OHL Announces 2021-22 All-Star and All-Rookie Teams

Ontario Hockey League

Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the first, second and third all-star team selections, in addition to the first and second all-rookie team designations for the 2021-22 season. Steelhead’s Head Coach James Richmond was named to the first all-star team and centre Owen Beck was named to the second all-rookie team.

OHL all-star and all-rookie teams were selected by the OHL’s General Managers, with voting conducted in two stages beginning with a Conference ballot followed by a final ballot that integrated the top selections from both the Eastern and Western Conference results.

James Richmond becomes the first Mississauga Steelheads coach to ever be included on the League’s first all-star team.

2021-22 OHL All-Star & All-Rookie Teams:

Representatives with major positional awards in brackets are default first team members, all other designations are determined by votes cast by OHL General Managers

First All-Star Team:
Centre – Wyatt Johnston, Windsor Spitfires (OHL’s Most Outstanding Player)
Left Wing – Brennan Othmann, Flint Firebirds – voted 1st all-rookie team in 2019-20
Right Wing – Brandon Coe, North Bay Battalion
Defence – Nathan Staios, Hamilton Bulldogs (OHL’s Defenceman of the Year)
Defence – Ryan O’Rourke, Soo Greyhounds – voted 2nd all-rookie team in 2018-19
Goaltender – Brett Brochu, London Knights (OHL’s Goaltender of the Year) – voted 1st all-rookie team in 2019-20
Coach – James Richmond, Mississauga Steelheads (OHL’s Coach of the Year)

Second All-Star Team:
Centre – Mason McTavish, Hamilton Bulldogs – voted 2nd all-rookie team in 2019-20
Left Wing – Will Cuylle, Windsor Spitfires – voted 2nd all-rookie team in 2018-19
Right Wing – Luke Evangelista, London Knights
Defence – Jack Thompson, Soo Greyhounds
Defence – Brandt Clarke, Barrie Colts – voted 1st all-rookie team in 2019-20
Goaltender – Luke Cavallin, Flint Firebirds
Coach – Ted Dent, Flint Firebirds

Third All-Star Team:
Centre – Shane Wright, Kingston Frontenacs – voted 1st all-rookie team in 2019-20
Left Wing – Tye Kartye, Soo Greyhounds
Right Wing – Lucas Edmonds, Kingston Frontenacs
Defence – Arber Xhekaj, Hamilton Bulldogs
Defence – Pavel Mintyukov, Saginaw Spirit
Goaltender – Marco Costantini, Hamilton Bulldogs
Coach – Jay McKee, Hamilton Bulldogs

First All-Rookie Team:
Centre – Calum Ritchie, Oshawa Generals
Left Wing – Colby Barlow, Owen Sound Attack
Right Wing – Coulson Pitre, Flint Firebirds
Defence – Cam Allen, Guelph Storm (OHL’s Rookie of the Year)
Defence – Michael Buchinger, Guelph Storm
Goaltender – Nolan Lalonde, Erie Otters

Second All-Rookie Team:
Centre – Owen Beck, Mississauga Steelheads

Left Wing – Quentin Musty, Sudbury Wolves
Right Wing – Vinzenz Rohrer, Ottawa 67’s
Defence – Ty Nelson, North Bay Battalion
Defence – Beau Akey, Barrie Colts
Goaltender – Dom DiVincentiis, North Bay Battalion

More News
SmartStop Post-Game Recap - First Game, First Goal, First Win
8 hours ago
Steelheads at NHL Camps
13 hours ago
Steelheads Announce Promotional Schedule for 2022-23 Season
2 days ago
SOTI Weekend Preview - Regular Season Hockey Returns
3 days ago
SmartStop Post-Game Recap - A Battle in Orangeville
5 days ago
SOTI Weekend Preview - Pre-Season Finale
1 week ago